ACCESS TO JUSTICE
If a defendant is charged with DUI, the charge may be categorized as either a misdemeanor or a felony. The classification of the crime will depend on the defendant’s criminal history. Regardless of how the charge is classified, hiring an experienced attorney is highly recommended.
Washington State has some of the harshest DUI penalties in the country. An experienced DUI attorney should be consulted promptly after an arrest to protect your rights and to make sure that you don’t miss any important deadlines.
A first-time DUI in Washington State is normally charged as a gross misdemeanor, which carries a maximum penalty of 364 days in jail and a $5000 fine. In all cases where a conviction is entered, there are mandatory minimum sentences, which a judge is required to impose and cannot reduce.
We Are Here To Help
Individuals immersed in the criminal justice system can depend on a knowledgeable practitioner in their corner. Since 2009, Joe Kuhlman has been litigating criminal cases and representing the people of Washington State. The Kuhlman Law Office litigates all manners of criminal cases.
If you have been charged with a crime or have concerns please do not hesitate to contact us.